The Interview – Part II

Interviewer: (Smiles to himself.)

Me: What?

Interviewer: I get in now.

Me: (A mischievous grin lifts my cheeks, and I glance away.)

Interviewer: Oh…don’t play the shy roll now.

Me: But I’m so good at it.  (My response is purposefully coy.)

Interviewer: So, am I the clown?

Me: (A full grin now dons my face.)  I have no idea what you mean.

Interviewer: (Laughs a little then squints his eyes.  He’s trying to search my thoughts.  Finding nothing to grab onto, he pushes his impromptu interview forward.)  Alright, you win…for now.

Me: I graciously accept your surrender, sir.

Interviewer: Back to the question I’ve been dying to ask…Why the change of tone?  Why so dark now?

Me: That’s exactly the key.

Interviewer:  How so?  Which part?

Me: Questions.  (My eyes sweep across the bustling café scene.)  Some people see the world in pictures, some in prose, other in rhythms, or even dollars or Euros.  But, all I see are questions.  And now, I want answers.

Interviewer: Does this mean no more fairy tale endings?

Me: (Smirks.)  That’s not what I said.  I want to find out what really makes the human heart beat.  Why do sad love songs stir up old, long-forgotten emotions?  Why don’t we really love the person we’re with until they tell us that this is the last good-bye?  Why is it that when I hurt so badly, immediately afterward, I feel so much more alive than ever before?

Interviewer: (Silence.  I can read his thoughts, and his eyes reflect him reliving these exact defining moments I have just described.)

Me: I want to deconstruct romance.  Break it into fragments that I can understand…feel…accept as real, not just whimsical, wishful fantasy.  When I pull it all back together, I want the picture finally to make sense.

Interviewer: (More silence.)

Me: (Sips more of the liquid salve from the cup I am clutching.  This isn’t the first time my random thoughts and theories have left someone bewildered and speechless.)

Share your thoughts with me :~)

