Dispelling the darkness

go or stay

stand or run

dream forever or be irrevocably awake

see all in one surreal, aching flash or shut out everything

cast a shadow or illuminate every creeping crevice

follow the path of the sun or become enchanted by the lullaby of the moon

keep quiet or shout, until the words echo back

ringing my ears

tossing off the cloak of despair

healing the blind eye

cleansing the marred heart

awakening the senses

sharpening the mind

preparing the soul

taking the breath

freeing the body

releasing the full force of destiny

Have I imagined all this, or

Have I just opened the door to reality

I know what I want to do

So why don’t I ever have the strength to do it

I feel the surge of infinite nature

The essence of a thousand glimmering suns

Racing through my veins

Yet the echo announces

Not yet

Steady yourself

Calm the storm

Lower the candle flame

The night is darker than it seems

Hide yourself behind me

Cloak yourself in the countenance of my wings

Shield yourself beneath my thoughts

Not because I despise your light

Because I want to protect it

Nurture it

Enhance it

Make it untouchable

From the reach of probing fingers

Which seek to extinguish it for always…

5 thoughts on “Dispelling the darkness

    1. Duality and insecurity..definitely part of the essence that is *me* ..Thank you for the compliment. I honestly didn’t expect anyone to take the time to read and comment, so I really appreciate you sharing your thoughts.

      1. I’m not one for ‘liking’ things in the hope that someone will ‘like’ what I write. I also try to add a comment when what somebody has written has moved me as I believe that it is a more honest response and, hopefully, any feedback will be beneficial. In for one, enjoy your writing, and am looking forward to reading more!

Share your thoughts with me :~)

