Stormy Night

Cminda Sameba, stormy day
Cminda Sameba, stormy day (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A smiling face, halfway hidden by a fluffy pillow, looks up at me. Love beams bright in that one blue eye.  A sudden stream of tears washes away the endearing vision.  When my eyes open, the dream vanishes back behind the veil of thin air it was summoned from. I know I should abandon these wandering thoughts of you, but the memories refuse to budge.

Never consummated, always a seductive fantasy we danced and teased our way around.  Sweet kisses, cozy hugs, tender words spoken under moonlit skies. That was our story, and it was perfection.  

Kind people say that I should move on toward new horizons. They can’t see how the sun doesn’t appear as golden to me now that I’m perched up on this hilltop all alone.  Lonely in a room filled with lively souls. A feeling that no one else will ever quite understand until the experience is draped around them. Their symphony of laughs isn’t nearly enough to distract me from reminiscing about the quiet giggles we once shared.

I remember a joke whispered from your soft lips paused at my ear.  A small grin tugs my cheeks.  It is one of very few to visit me lately, and there is no promise of another in the near future.  Best friend. Confidant.  Amore. Hero. I miss you. 

The roaring thunder from another approaching storm calls me to sleep again. Again, with you constantly on my mind.

All Text ©2012 Lenise Lee Pubn.  All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Stormy Night

Share your thoughts with me :~)

